Author Topic: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images  (Read 3440 times)

Maurice (jimipage77)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« on: November 01, 2009, 07:46:18 PM »
I am getting a weird line on top of my images
The thing is that they are not constant. They move, and they dont look to move with the optical system either with the CCD. The line moves down as the nights advances, do it doesnt go away with either flats or dark frames, vert weird.

Attached are two 10 minute uncalibrated images of IC 443. I just did the same stretching to both to show the problem at the top. There's  a two hour difference between the two images and look that the line moves down.

Any ideas?



QiuHY

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3445
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2009, 08:18:12 PM »
Hello,

        Is this 1*1 bin or 2*2? And which software do you using?   Is exposure time effect this line's position?


Best regards,

Gama

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1602
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2009, 08:23:50 PM »
Maybe also check power supply. Swap with another and see if lines gone.

Theo

Maurice (jimipage77)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2009, 08:29:14 PM »
This is 1x1
I am using MaximDL 5
The exposure time is not affecting the lines position since both the images were 600 seconds

Theo
I have only one power supply so I couldnt do that. If that causes this, I would be happy to get a new one just in case

I have connected my power supply to a computer UPS to avoid any electrical problems. I can have blackouts in my country and I wouldnt like to see my QHY9 out of power when at -20 C. Is that recommended?

?

Gama

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1602
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2009, 08:34:58 PM »
The -20 deg C wont do anything if powered off. It warms up slowly, so no worries for the sensor.

Theo.

Maurice (jimipage77)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2009, 10:04:47 AM »
Qiu,

What should I do here then? Order another power supply?

Maurice

QiuHY

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3445
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2009, 09:08:19 PM »
Hello,

         Please check the dark frames:   5sec, 30sec, 60sec, 120sec, 300sec, 600sec, and see if the line is in the same position? And would you please send me the FIT format image  to my email box
of that 600sec image you shown here?   

         I need to confirm if it is due to the SDRAM buffer time issue talked on this forum some month before. If it is just this problem .You should check all the software/driver the lastest version.


Best regards,

Maurice (jimipage77)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2009, 08:24:55 AM »
Qiu

I just sent you the FIT file you requested. It's big at 16MB. Please confirm when you get it

If I compare two 600 sec dark frames taken one next to each other, line is NOT in the same place, so obviously it wont be in the same place in a 300s and a 600s for example. It's not dependant on exposure length.

I will wait your advise to see if I need to order a new QHY9 power supply as recommended by Theo.

Regards

Maurice
« Last Edit: November 28, 2009, 08:28:41 AM by Maurice (jimipage77) »

Gama

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1602
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2009, 03:48:14 AM »
Can you use a car battery ?, just connect with a cigarrette lighter plug, and make sure centre pin is Positive (+).
Then check, or just borrow a power supply from a freind..


Theo.

Maurice (jimipage77)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2009, 05:09:59 AM »
Yeah, I can do that, I have several batteries.
Will check and get back

QiuHY

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3445
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2009, 07:46:05 AM »
Hello,

        I still think it is due to the RAM buffer time issue. So it should be in the software. Do you use the lastest software/plugin/driver version? And Is it high/slow/slowest readout speed?

Best regards,

Maurice (jimipage77)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2009, 08:18:09 AM »
I use MaximDL 5.07 (latest), lastest ASCOM 5.5 (there is a 5.5.1 update now), and the QHY9 200906 pluggin (there is a 200907 now I think)
I use the slowest readout mode

I am going to test tonight with ASCOM 5.5.1 and QHY9 200907 and with a battery instead of AC outlet

I also have CCDSoft 5, I will check with that too
« Last Edit: November 29, 2009, 08:20:15 AM by Maurice (jimipage77) »

QiuHY

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3445
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2009, 08:25:11 AM »
Hello,

      Ok.And please test the slow mode also.  I do not think it is AC thing.

Best regards,

Maurice (jimipage77)

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Weird lines on top of my QHY9 images
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2012, 11:06:10 AM »
Hi

I am writing again about this issue. I never mentioned but it really never corrected. I was imaging in visible light and Ha and the lines dont show when I image in visible light, and very dim on Ha. Now I am doing narrowband a lot with OIII and SII where signal is weaker, the lines are a big problem.
One thing, the lines are moving between months. For example, on 2009 the lines where on top of the image but now in 2012 are more to the center (old problem, I know).
Between one image and the next one, they dont appear to move. At least not an amount that I can perceive.
When I stack and stretch the images, they are awful.
Attached a stacked JPG image, SII data with frames from 2009 and 2012. The line on top was de 2009, the line more to the center is the 2012.
Also a FIT also from SII data, just with the 2012 lines

Ideas?